Why we hate to change our minds

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

The Greater our Investment
The greater the likelihood
we will hold on to ideas that don’t serve us

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Foundational Concept of the Intentionality Series
Opinions vs. Facts

Sometimes people hold a core belief that is very strong.  Presented with conflicting information, accepting the new evidence would create a feeling that is extremely uncomfortable (called cognitive dissonance)

And because it is so important to protect that core belief, they will rationalize, ignore, and even deny anything that doesn’t fit with the core belief.~ Franz Fanon, Free Your Mind and Think

Confirmation Bias

There has been a great deal of research and writing on the implications of the concept of confirmation bias. I have often referred to the concept here on ADDandSoMuchMORE.com, so many of my regular readers are already familiar with the expression.

Given today’s political climate, I believe it is…

View original post 1,684 more words

13 thoughts on “Why we hate to change our minds

      1. Thank you for that. I don’t usually have time, much less the knowledge, to comment on all the astrology posts, but I do read as many as possible (and click to read through), and try to hit “likes” to let you know I was there, at least.

        Loved the Lillith one posted just a bit ago.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

            1. Actually, I like the older work as well. But, not so much of that, so I mix in the newer stuff quite a bit. For some reason yoga pants with halter tops seems very dominant right now. But I like Dita / Bettie Page / Alberto Vargas / Gil Elvgren and similar the best.

              Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.