May 2017: Mental Health Awareness

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

NOTE: I’m auto-posting May’s calendar a day early because I will be out of town until very late Wednesday nite or Thursday afternoon (a bit of a break for me, and much needed). I’ll approve and respond to comments late Thursday, when I’ll remove this notice.

Until then, don’t panic if your comments don’t appear on the site until my return.
Blame the blasted 1,108,521 spammers who keep trying to sneak through!
(Akismet spam counter on sidebar)

Special days & weeks in May

Along with Advocacy & Awareness
for mental health related issues
(and a calendar for the month!)

by Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Part of the ADD/ADHD Cormidities series

May is Mental Health Awareness Month!
Online Marketing Gurus extol the effectiveness of piggy-backing posts
onto particular events – how about one or several of the ones below?
They make GREAT, positive writing prompts!

It takes…

View original post 1,909 more words

20 thoughts on “May 2017: Mental Health Awareness

      1. Thanks. Already, I’m up past midnight and on the computer. Only last nite I was listening to the river rushing in the distance and sipping a bit of tequila in pjs, having a wonderful conversation with my good friend Sam. Almost like being back in college and in the Smokies (where we spent a great deal of time together).
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

              1. I value your opinion on many things, but I fear we would never be in agreement on this issue, so I am loathe to get into it with you.

                To answer your question, putting the two candidates side by side I agree that we could only vote for “the least worst,” but I’m sure we would always disagree over the “winner” of that particular contest.

                I felt (and feel) that practically *anybody* would have been a better choice than the man who was put in office by the electoral college.

                Both parties need to be swept clean, certainly, but our current so-called “leader” is proving more every day that he is not the man for the job. The handwriting on the wall is starting to become legible to former supporters now, however. Follow the money.

                For the first time in my life, I am afraid for it at the hands of my own government – and have been since that nite in November.
                xx,
                mgh

                Liked by 1 person

              2. I think you are right on the point that, if we pursue this topic, it will likely become a disagreement. I think the other side was a worse option for reasons different from yours. Certainly Bill and Hillary are “experienced.” That is not in question. What is in question (for me, at least, and I think many others as well) is whether or not they would make the right choices for the citizenry of the nation. I believe that they would not; at least some of our present problems stem from directions they took us during the 1990’s. (And they have their own long history of prevarication, including but not limited to Monica Lewinsky.) For that reason, along with Trump’s inexperience in government (and sometimes larger than life bluster), I believe that (collectively) we did not have much of a choice. On that, I will drop the topic (for now, unless it somehow is raised again).

                Liked by 1 person

              3. lol – reminds me of the old joke: How can you tell if a politician is lying? His lips are moving! (and/or hers).

                We are in total agreement that we have little choice in EITHER party – even now unfortunately – and that it will be best for our growing friendship to engage on other topics.
                xx,
                mgh

                Liked by 1 person

              4. I first saw it in a book on negotiation. I think it was this one: https://www.amazon.com/You-Can-Negotiate-Anything-Negotiator/dp/0553281097 Whoever it was, they claimed you could interview Kissinger for hours and come away with nothing. You would ask him: “Dr. Kissinger, is war going to break out in the Middle East?” Kissinger would reply “You are very smart!” The journalist would think that they nailed him, run home to write it up, and then realize they had absolutely nothing that was worth printing.

                Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.